Just like the Japanese Miyota 9015, the Swiss Sellita SW200-1 is also a popular alternative for the now very rare ETA 2824-2 movement. ETA, a subsidiary of the Swatch Group, announced in 2003 in consultation with the Swiss Competition Commission WeKo that in future only its own Swatch Group brands and smaller manufacturers would be supplied with watch movements. After this announcement there was uncertainty in the watch industry and many manufacturers who used ETA movements in their watches had to look for alternatives. Companies such as Sellita or STP used this opportunity (and the expired patent protection of the ETA 2824-2 and other ETA calibers) to bring almost identical movements onto the market and thus expand their own business.

Sellita – From a reassembly company to the second largest manufacturer of mechanical watch movements in Europe

Sellita was founded in 1950 by Pierre Grandjean in La Chaux-de-Fonds in French-speaking Switzerland. The high demand for Swiss watches in the years of the economic boom also spurred the business of the former reassembly company, which assembled standard calibres in series according to individual customer requirements. At that time, Sellita did not yet have its own production of parts. Even then, Pierre Grandjean was already specializing, among other things, in movements whose construction were similar to ETA, and over the next few years continued to optimize the assembly of the movements. Inventions such as the laser welding process for attaching the hairspring to the balance wheel, for example, come from Sellita.

Sellita SW200-1

When the patent for the ETA caliber 2824-2 expired in 2003 and ETA also announced that it would shorten deliveries to third-party customers, Pierre Grandjean decided that Sellita had to take a new direction: instead of just assembling the individual movement components as before, the most important parts of the movements should also be manufactured in-house. Grandjean entrusted his then operations manager, Miguel Garcia, with the implementation of this project. This then initiated the construction of a production facility for replicas of all components of ETA automatic calibers such as the 2824-2, which came onto the market a little later as the Sellita SW 200-1.

The plan worked and the replicas of the ETA movements were so popular that Sellita quickly reached its capacity limits. In the next few years, therefore, additional production facilities were built to meet the increasing demand for the popular and high-quality Sellita movements. The Sellita subsidiary Technicor, for example, has specialized in the decoration and mechanical finishing of watch movement components and has the largest fully automatic electroplating plant in Switzerland.

Today Sellita is the second largest manufacturer of mechanical watch movements in Europe. The replicas are matching the quality of the ETA originals and are available for both large and small manufacturers. Sellita attaches great importance to being independent and not just specializing in supplying certain brands. Since Sellita consequently also supplies competing brands, discretion is important to the company in order to protect the interests of its customers.

Technical specifications of the Sellita SW200-1

The Sellita SW200-1 is a round caliber with mechanical lever movement and automatic winding. Thanks to the 28,800 vibrations per hour, the second hand runs very smoothly. The movement has an hour, minute and large seconds hand as well as a date display. The winding shaft has three different positions: the first is manual winding, the second is for quick date correction and the third is for the hand position. Thanks to the stop-second, the time can be set precisely.

The Sellita SW200-1 also has a ball-bearing rotor with high elevator efficiency.

The specification of the Sellita SW200-1 factory again at a glance:

  • Diameter: 26.00 mm
  • Height: 4.6 mm
  • Accuracy: see table below
  • Power reserve: 38 hours
  • Frequency: 28800 A/h
  • Bearing jewels: 26 jewels

Sellita SW200-1: Quality levels

Since Sellita has taken over the quality levels from ETA, the Sellita SW200-1 as well as the ETA 2824-2 are available in four different quality levels, namely Standard, Spécial or Elaboré, Prémium or Top and Chronomètre. The differences mainly concern the balance, the shock protection and of course the accuracy.

Standard Spécial (Elaboré) Prémium (Top) Chronomètre
Medium accuracy 12 ±12 s/d 7 ±7 s/d 4 ±4 s/d COSC criteria
Shock protection Novodiac Novodiac Incabloc Incabloc
Balance Nickel gold-plated Nickel gold-plated Glucydur gold-plated Glucydur gold-plated

Strictly speaking, there are only three different movements, because the only difference between Top and Chronomètre is the certification, which is carried out by an institution such as the COSC (Contrôle officiel suisse des chronomètres) and may bear the name Chronomètre if the test is passed. In other words: Chronomètre is a premium or top movement with certification.

Circula watches with Sellita SW200-1 movement

Sellita SW200-1 movements in the Standard or Top versions are built into the Circula Super Compressor watch SuperSport  and in the second generation of the diver’s watch AquaSport.

Hinweise zu Datenschutzbestimmungen finden Sie hier. Abmeldung jederzeit möglich.

Ebenso wie das japanische Miyota 9015 ist auch das Schweizer Sellita SW200-1 eine beliebte Alternative für das inzwischen sehr rare ETA 2824-2-Werk. ETA, eine Tochterfirma der Swatch-Group, kündigte 2003 in Absprache mit der Schweizer Wettbewerbskommission WeKo an, dass in Zukunft nur noch die eigenen Swatch Group-Marken und kleinere Hersteller mit Uhrwerken beliefert werden sollen. Nach dieser Ankündigung kam Bewegung in die Uhrenbranche und viele Hersteller, die in ihren Uhren ETA-Werke verbauten, mussten sich nach Alternativen umschauen. Firmen wie Sellita oder auch STP nutzten diese Chance (und den ausgelaufenen Patentschutz des ETA 2824-2 und weiterer ETA-Kaliber), um baugleiche Werke auf den Markt zu bringen und somit das eigene Geschäft auszubauen.

Sellita – Vom Remontagebetrieb zum zweitgrößten Hersteller von mechanischen Uhrwerken in Europa

Sellita wurde im Jahre 1950 von Pierre Grandjean in La Chaux-de-Fonds in der französischen Westschweiz gegründet. Die hohe Nachfrage nach Schweizer Uhren in den Wirtschaftswunderjahren beflügelte dabei auch die Geschäfte des ehemaligen Remontagebetriebs, der serienmäßig Standardkaliber nach individuellen Kundenwünschen fertigte. Über eine eigene Produktion verfügte Sellita zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch nicht. Pierre Grandjean spezialisierte sich schon damals unter anderem auf Uhrwerke, deren Konstruktion ETA ähnelte, und optimierte im Laufe der nächsten Jahre die Montage der Uhrwerke immer weiter. Erfindungen wie das Laserschweißverfahren zur Befestigung der Spirale an der Unruh stammen beispielsweise aus dem Hause Sellita.

Sellita SW200-1

Als im Jahre 2003 das Patent des ETA-Kalibers 2824-2 ausgelaufen ist und ETA außerdem ankündigte die Lieferung an Drittkunden zu verknappen, beschloss Pierre Grandjean, dass Sellita eine neue Richtung einschlagen muss: Anstatt wie bisher die einzelnen Werkskomponenten nur zusammenzubauen, sollten die wichtigsten Teile der Uhrwerke auch im eigenen Hause gefertigt werden. Grandjean betraute mit der Umsetzung dieses Vorhabens seinen damaligen Betriebsleiter Miguel Garcia. Dieser veranlasste daraufhin den Bau einer Produktionsstätte für Nachbauten sämtlicher Komponenten von ETA-Automatikkalibern wie zum Beispiel dem 2824-2, das dann wenig später als Sellita SW 200-1 auf den Markt kam.

Der Plan ging auf und die Nachbauten der ETA-Werke waren so gefragt, dass Sellita schnell an seine Kapazitätsgrenzen stieß. In den nächsten Jahren wurden deshalb weitere Produktionsstätten errichtet, um der steigenden Nachfrage nach den beliebten und qualitativ hochwertigen Sellita Werken nachzukommen. Das Sellita-Tochterunternehmen Technicor beispielsweise hat sich auf die Dekoration und mechanische Nachbearbeitung von Uhrwerkbauteilen spezialisiert und verfügt über die größte vollautomatische Galvanik-Anlage der Schweiz.

Heute ist Sellita der zweitgrößten Hersteller von mechanischen Uhrwerken in Europa. Die Nachbauten stehen den ETA-Originalen qualitativ in nichts nach und sind sowohl für große als auch für kleine Hersteller verfügbar. Sellita legt viel Wert darauf unabhängig zu sein und sich nicht nur auf die Belieferung bestimmter Marken zu spezialisieren. Da Sellita folglich auch konkurrierende Marken beliefert, ist dem Unternehmen Diskretion wichtig, um die Interessen seiner Kunden zu wahren.

Technische Spezifikationen des Sellita SW200-1

Das Sellita SW200-1 ist ein rundes Kaliber mit mechanischem Ankerwerk und automatischem Aufzug. Dank der 28.800 Halbschwingungen pro Stunde läuft der Sekundenzeiger sehr flüssig. Das Werk verfügt über einen Stunden-, Minuten- und großen Sekundenzeiger sowie über eine Datumsanzeige. Die Aufzugswelle hat drei verschiedene Stellungen: die erste ist der Handaufzug, die zweite die Schnellkorrektur des Datums und die dritte ist für die Zeigerstellung. Dank Sekundenstopp lässt sich die Zeit präzise einstellen.

Das Sellita SW200-1 verfügt außerdem über einen kugelgelagerten Rotor mit hoher Aufzugs-Effizienz.

Die Spezifikation des Sellita SW200-1-Werks auf einen Blick:

  • Durchmesser: 26,00 mm
  • Höhe: 4,6 mm
  • Ganggenauigkeit: je nach Qualitätsstufe, siehe Tabelle
  • Gangreserve: 38 Stunden
  • Frequenz: 28800 A/h
  • Lagersteine: 26 Steine

Sellita SW200-1: Qualitätsstufen

Da Sellita die Qualitätsstufen von ETA übernommen hat, ist das Sellita SW200-1 ebenso wie das ETA 2824-2 in den vier verschiedenen Qualitätsstufen, nämlich Standard, Spécial bzw. Elaboré, Prémium bzw. Top und Chronomètre erhältlich. Die Unterschiede betreffen vor allem die Unruh, die Stoßsicherung und natürlich die Ganggenauigkeit.

Standard Spécial (Elaboré) Prémium (Top) Chronomètre
Mittlere Ganggenauigkeit 12 ±12 s/d 7 ±7 s/d 4 ±4 s/d COSC-Kriterien
Stoßsicherung Novodiac Novodiac Incabloc Incabloc
Unruh Nickel vergoldet Nickel vergoldet Glucydur vergoldet Glucydur vergoldet

Genau genommen gibt es nur drei verschiedene Werke, denn der einzige Unterschied zwischen Top und Chronomètre ist die Zertifizierung, die von einer Einrichtung wie z.B. der COSC (Contrôle officiel suisse des chronomètres) durchgeführt wird und bei Bestehen des Tests die Bezeichnung Chronomètre tragen darf. Sprich: Chronomètre ist ein Prémium- bzw. Top-Werk mit Zertifizierung.

Circula-Uhren mit Sellita SW200-1-Werk

Sellita SW200-1-Werke in der Ausführung Standard oder Top sind in der Circula Super-Compressor-Uhr SuperSport sowie in der zweiten Generation der Taucheruhr AquaSport verbaut.

Hinweise zu Datenschutzbestimmungen finden Sie hier. Abmeldung jederzeit möglich.