Watches that glow in the dark are not only practical, they used to be e.g. a vital aid for divers. Even today, luminous hands and indices are still essential features of diving watches like the Circula AquaSport. In contrast to the radioactive and permanently luminous substances that were still used until a few years ago, nowadays Super-Luminova is mostly used to light up the hands, numerals or indices of a clock.

What is Super-Luminova?

Super-Luminova are luminescent pigments (not noctilucent pigments!) Based on alkaline earth aluminate, which work in a similar way to small light storage batteries. If Super-Luminova is mentioned, then it is mostly Swiss Super-LumiNova® from the Swiss company RC TRITEC AG, which is 100% made in Switzerland and mainly used by the Swiss watch industry.

So that the pigments can be applied to watches, they have to be mixed with lacquer as a carrier layer. They can then be applied to the pointers, indices and bezel using an allocation pen, the so-called stylograph, screen printing or transfer / pad printing.

Characteristics of Super-Luminova

In contrast to its predecessors Radium and Tritium, Super Luninova is not radioactive. It is also REACH-compatible (i.e. harmless to health), temperature-resistant and insensitive to environmental influences – provided it has been applied correctly.

Durability of Super-Luminova

The luminous pigments can be charged with both daylight and artificial light (e.g. from a flashlight) and then continuously emit the stored light energy, i.e. the afterglow becomes weaker and weaker until the watch is charged again with daylight or artificial light. The charging process itself can be repeated indefinitely, as Super-Luminova does not wear out and does not lose its luminosity over the years.

In order to get a good result when applying the luminescent pigments, various things must be considered, such as the correct mixing ratio of paint and pigments, the ambient temperature, the thickness of the application, the type of drying (bake or in the air), the application of a second layer or how the hands, indices or numerals were cleaned before the luminous material was applied.

Super-Luminova lighting duration

Depending on how intensely the luminous pigments are charged, they can glow for a few minutes or all night. If the luminous markings have been applied in sufficient size and mass, perfect readability is guaranteed throughout the night in accordance with ISO 3157. Incidentally, how thick the luminous material was applied has no influence on the duration of the light – it is a purely optical design element, since numbers and indices appear more three-dimensional when applied in multiple layers.

Super-Luminova Grade

The different quality grades relate to the afterglow power and the duration of the light. Super-Luminova is available in three different qualities:

  • Standard Grade
  • Grade A
  • Grade X1

The Standard Grade has the shortest burn time and X1 the longest.

Grade X1 is easier to activate and after two hours it glows 60% brighter than Grade A.

The most common Super Luminova color variants

Relative Brightness Yield of Super-LumiNova Colours

Super-Luminova C3

C3 is yellowish in daylight and glows green in the dark. With a relative luminosity of 100%, C3 is the brightest Super Luminova.

Super-Luminova BG W9

BG W9 is white in daylight and glows green-blue in the dark. The name BGW is made up of the English color names: blue green white. Compared to C3, BG W9 has a luminosity of 95%.

Super-Luminova C1

C1 is white in daylight and glows green in the dark. With a luminosity of 31% compared to C3, C1 is very subtle.

Super-Luminova Old Radium

Old radium is light orange to brownish in daylight and glows green in the dark.

Despite the wide range of colors (blue, green, violet, white, yellow, orange, pink …), Super-Luminova in green and blue tones are mostly used for watches. The reason for this is that the human eye can best recognize green afterglow when one comes from daylight into a dark room. Once the eye has got used to the darkness, blue afterglow is easier to see.

For the Circula AquaSport we therefore use Swiss Super-Luminova C3 for the hands and indices, as well as BG W9 for the markings on the bezel.

Super-Luminova BG W9 und C3

The predecessors of Super-Luminova

In the past, from the beginning of the 20th century to the 1960s, radioactive substances based on radium were used to make wristwatches glow. These then radiated continuously and without having to be charged, but the coating had (and still has today, due to the long half-life of 1622 years!) unhealthily high levels of radioactive radiation.

At the end of the 50s, weakly radioactive isotopes such as tritium and promethium were used instead of radium, which have a half-life of only 12.5 years and whose rays cannot penetrate the metal cases and glasses of watches.

In 1973 the Japanese company Nemoto & Co. finally developed a long-lasting phosphorescent pigment based on radioactively activated zinc sulfides.

It was not until 1993 that Nemoto & Co. succeeded in developing the phosphorescent and completely non-radioactive pigment LumiNova®. In contrast to the phosphorescent pigments based on zinc sulfide, these pigments were ten times lighter and also glowed ten times longer. Within a few years, LumiNova replaced luminous paints that used radioactive materials.

In 1998 Nemoto joined forces with the Swiss company RC-Tritec in order to manufacture high-quality afterglow pigments, namely Swiss Super-LumiNova®, for the Swiss watch industry.

Uhren, die im Dunkeln leuchten sind nicht nur praktisch, sondern waren früher auch z.B. für Taucher ein lebenswichtiges Hilfsmittel. Auch heute sind Leuchtzeiger und Leuchtindizes noch wesentliche Merkmale von Taucheruhren. Im Gegensatz zu den bis vor ein paar Jahren noch radioaktiven und dauerhaft leuchtenden Stoffen wird heutzutage meist Super-Luminova verwendet, um Zeiger, Ziffern oder Indizes einer Uhr zum Leuchten zu bringen.

Was ist Super-Luminova?

Super-Luminova sind nachleuchtende Pigmente (nicht nachtleuchtende Pigmente!) auf Erdalkali-Aluminat-Basis, die ähnlich wie kleine Lichtspeicherbatterien funktionieren. Ist von Super-Luminova die Rede, dann handelt es sich meist um Swiss Super-LumiNova® der Schweizer Firma RC TRITEC AG, welches zu 100 % in der Schweiz hergestellt und vor allem von der Schweizer Uhrenindustrie eingesetzt wird.

Damit die Pigmente auf Uhren aufgetragen werden können, müssen sie mit Lack als Trägerschicht vermischt werden. Anschließend können sie mittels eines Belegungsstifts, dem sogenannten Stylograph, Siebdruck oder Transfer-/Tampondruck auf Zeiger, Indizes und Lünette aufgetragen werden.

Eigenschaften von Super-Luminova

Im Gegensatz zu den Vorgängern Radium und Tritium ist Super-Luninova nicht radioaktiv. Es ist außerdem REACH-kompatibel (also gesundheitlich unbedenklich), temperaturresistent und unempfindlich gegen Umwelteinflüsse – sofern es korrekt aufgetragen wurde.

Haltbarkeit von Super-Luminova

Die Leuchtpigmente lassen sich sowohl mit Tageslicht als auch mit künstlichem Licht (z.B. von einer Taschenlampe) aufladen und geben dann die gespeicherte Lichtenergie kontinuierlich ab, d.h., dass das Nachleuchten immer schwächer wird, bis die Uhr erneut mit Tages- oder Kunstlicht aufgeladen wird. Der Aufladevorgang selbst lässt sich unendlich oft wiederholen, da Super-Luminova nicht abnutzt und über die Jahre auch nicht an Leuchtkraft verliert.

Um ein gutes Ergebnis beim Auftragen der Leuchtpigmente zu erhalten, müssen verschiedene Dinge beachtet werden, wie z.B. das richtige Mischungsverhältnis von Lack und Pigmenten, die Umgebungstemperatur, die Auftragungsdicke, die Art der Trocknung (backen oder an der Luft), das Auftragen einer zweiten Schicht oder auch, wie Zeiger, Indizes oder Ziffern vor dem Auftrag der Leuchtmasse gereinigt wurden.

Super-Luminova Leuchtdauer

Je nachdem, wie intensiv die Leuchtpigmente aufgeladen werden, können diese ein paar Minuten oder die ganze Nacht über leuchten. Wenn die Leuchtmarkierungen in ausreichender Größe und Masse aufgetragen wurden, dann ist eine einwandfreie Ablesbarkeit über die ganze Nacht nach ISO 3157 garantiert. Wie dick die Leuchtmasse aufgetragen wurde hat übrigens keinen Einfluss auf die Leuchtdauer – es handelt sich um ein rein optisches Gestaltungsmittel, da Ziffern und Indizes durch mehrschichtiges Auftragen plastischer wirken.

Super-Luminova Grade

Die verschiedenen Qualitätsstufen (engl. Grade) beziehen sich auf die Nachleuchtkraft und die Leuchtdauer. Super-Luminova ist in drei verschiedenen Qualitäten erhältlich:

  • Standard Grade
  • Grade A
  • Grade X1

Der Standard Grade hat die kürzeste Leuchtdauer und X1 die längste.

Grade X1 lässt sich leichter aktivieren und leuchtet nach zwei Stunden noch 60 % heller als Grade A.

Die gängigsten Farbvarianten

Relative Brightness Yield of Super-LumiNova Colours

Super-Luminova C3

C3 ist bei Tageslicht gelblich und leuchtet im Dunkeln grün. Mit einer relativen Leuchtkraft von 100 % ist C3 das hellste Super-Luminova.

Super-Luminova BG W9

BG W9 ist bei Tageslicht weiß und leuchtet im Dunkeln grün-blau. Die Bezeichnung BGW setzt sich aus den englischen Farbbezeichnungen zusammen: blue green white. Im Vergleich zu C3 hat BG W9 eine Leuchtkraft von 95 %.

Super-Luminova C1

C1 ist bei Tageslicht weiß und leuchtet im Dunkeln grün. Mit einer Leuchtkraft von 31 % im Vergleich zu C3 ist C1 sehr dezent.

Super-Luminova Old Radium

Old Radium ist bei Tageslicht hellorange bis bräunlich und leuchtet im Dunkeln grün.

Trotz der großen Farbauswahl (blau, grün, violett, weiß, gelb, orange, pink…) werden für Uhren meist Super-Luminova in Grün- und Blautönen verwendet. Das hat den Hintergrund, dass das menschliche Auge grünes Nachleuchten am besten erkennen kann, wenn man vom Tageslicht in einen dunklen Raum kommt. Hat sich das Auge an die Dunkelheit gewöhnt, dann ist blaues Nachleuchten besser erkennbar.

Für die Circula AquaSport nutzen wir daher z.B. Swiss Super-Luminova C3 für die Zeiger und Indizes, sowie BG W9 für die Markierungen auf der Lünette.

Super-Luminova BG W9 und C3

Die Vorläufer von Super-Luminova

Früher, zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts bis in die 60-er Jahre, wurden radioaktiven Stoffe auf Basis von Radium genutzt, um Armbanduhren zum Leuchten zu bringen. Diese strahlten dann zwar kontinuierlich und ohne aufgeladen werden zu müssen, jedoch ging (und geht auch heute noch aufgrund der langen Halbwertszeit von 1622 Jahren!) eine ungesund hohe radioaktive Strahlung von der Beschichtung aus.

Ende der 50-er Jahre wurde dann anstelle von Radium schwach radioaktive Isotope wie Tritium und Promethium genutzt, die eine Halbwertszeit von lediglich 12,5 Jahren haben und deren Strahlen die Metallgehäuse und Gläser von Uhren nicht durchdringen können.

1973 entwickelte die japanische Firma Nemoto & Co. schließlich ein lang nachleuchtendes phosphoreszierendes Pigment auf Basis von radioaktiv aktivierten Zinksulfiden.

Erst 1993 gelang es Nemoto & Co. das phosphoreszierende und gänzlich nicht radioaktive Pigment LumiNova® zu entwickeln. Im Gegensatz zu den phosphoreszierenden Pigmenten auf Zinksulfidbasis waren diese Pigmente zehnmal heller und leuchteten auch zehnmal länger nach. Innerhalb weniger Jahre ersetzte LumiNova Leuchtfarben, die radioaktive Materialien verwendeten.

1998 schloss sich Nemoto mit der Schweizer Firma RC-Tritec zusammen, um dort für die Schweizer Uhrenindustrie hochwertige Nachleuchtpigmente, nämlich Swiss Super-LumiNova® zu fertigen.